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This newsletter is not intended to provide legal advice to the reader. Legal opinions or interpretations of statutes and regulations referenced should ee sought fro  legal professionals. 

Department of Business & Industry                                                                                           

A Publication of the Workers’ Compensation Section  

We are excited to announce online registration is now open for the Eighth Annual 

Nevada Workers’ Compensation Educational Conference, which will take place at 

the Tuscany Suites Hotel on August 23rd-24th. The conference is presented by the 

State of Nevada Workers’ Compensation Section in association with the Interna-

tional Workers’ Compensation Foundation.  

   

This year’s conference promises to be a highly informative and an enjoyable ex-

perience. There will be a variety of presentations which will include the following 

topics: 

  

 
Individual registration is $350 on or before July 1, 2018 and $400 after July 1, 

2018. The fee for exhibitors is $800 and includes two (2) complimentary registra-

tions for exhibitor representatives. Sponsorship opportunities are also available.   

      

To register or for more information visit the IWCF website at www.iwcf.us/

iwcfevents.html. 

 

We look forward to seeing you in August! 

  Stories of Workers’ Comp Law from 

1913 Forward 

 The Other Face of DIR 

 Benefit Penalties: How They Work 

 Superbugs: The Roadmap to Employer 

Safety 

 Overview of Workers’ Compensation 

Supreme Court Cases 

 

 Shifting the Paradigm 

 Self-Insured Guarantee Funds 

 Workers’ Comp Adjuster Licensing 

 Workers’ Comp Injury Causation 2 

Parts 

 What is Worker Misclassification? 

 The Aftermath: October 1st 

Inside this issue: 

2018 Workers’ Compensation  

Educational Conference 

1 

Subsequent Injury File Procedures 1 

Subsequent Injury File Procedures 2 

Employer Educational Sweeps Update 3 

Consumer Health Assistance (OCHA) 4 

Reporting Reminders 5 

Office Closures 5 

Hails, Farewells and Promotions 6 

Subsequent Injury Accounts (Account) 

were established pursuant to NRS 

616B.554, .575 and .584 to help in-

jured employees retain or acquire em-

ployment within the State of Nevada 

by providing an incentive for employ-

ers to hire or retain in employment in-

dividuals with a permanent physical 

impairment.  An insurer of an employ-

er who has been made aware of a per-

manent physical impairment, as de-

fined by statute, upon hiring an indi-

vidual, may request reimbursement 

from the Account for a subsequent in-
jury by following the statutes and regu-

lations that govern claims for reim-

bursement. An insurer may also re-

quest reimbursement from the Account 

for the costs associated with a subse-

quent injury if the employer has re-

tained an injured employee that has a 

qualifying permanent physical impair-

ment once the employer has been made 

aware of the injured employee’s condi-

tion.  NRS 616B.554 to 616B.590 can 

be found at https://

www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-

616B.html  
 (continued on page 2) 

REGISTRATION IS NOW OPEN FOR THE 

2018 WORKERS’ COMPENSATION  

EDUCATION CONFERENCE  

Subsequent Injury 

Claim Request  

Procedures 

http://www.iwcf.us/iwcfevents.html
http://www.iwcf.us/iwcfevents.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616B.html
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-616B.html
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https://www.compevent.com/nevada/
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Subsequent Injury Claim Request Procedures 
(continued from page 1) 

Claims for reimbursement are made to the Administrator of the Division of Industrial Relations where they are reviewed and a 

recommendation made regarding their qualification under the appropriate Account.  The Boards for the Subsequent Injury Ac-

counts for self-insured employers and associations of self-insured public or private employers meet regularly to review DIR 

recommendations on claims for reimbursement. The Boards are responsible for making final determinations regarding reim-

bursement.  Decisions of the Boards are appealable to the District Court. There is no Board for the Account for private carri-

ers. DIR determinations for claims submitted by private carriers are appealable to the Appeals Office. 

 

The Insurer’s Subsequent Injury Checklist, Form D-37, must be completed in its entirety and submitted with the request and 

backup documentation. The form can be found on our web site at http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/d-

37.pdf. The D-37 should be used as a guide for submitting an organized and complete request for reimbursement to DIR. As 

they are often voluminous, complete submissions must be secured in a binder or by some other means and the sections separat-

ed with tabs or colored paper.    

 
Part One:  Complete claim and submitter  identification area completely.  Identify the type of insurer  that is requesting 

reimbursement so that the DIR recommendation may be presented to the appropriate Board. 

 

Part Two: A letter  of application specifying under  which statute  reimbursement is requested and an explanation of 

why the claim qualifies must be included.   

 

Part Three, subsection a: The submission  must include medical documentation specifically showing that the compen-

sation due is greater due to the combined effects of the prior condition and the subsequent injury.  Some insurers  elect to send 

the claim file  for review by a physician; however it is not required.  The cost for this review is considered an administrative 

expense. Be specific when citing the documents being referenced for this section.   

 

Documentation of the prior 6% whole person impairment (WPI) can be from a prior PPD, a current PPD, prior medical re-

ports, etc. This can also include reporting from a medical advisor.  The percentage of impairment and the body part must be 
clearly identified and relate to the current claim for reimbursement. 

 

Verification of the employer’s knowledge by written record,  the employee’s date of hire, the date of the employer’s 

knowledge of the impairment and date of retention in employment after the date of knowledge must all be identified.  If there 

are specific documents being referenced, note them in the specified area. 

 

A copy of the notification to DIR of a possible claim pursuant to NRS 616B.557, .578 or .587 is only required  to be submitted 

on claims with  dates of injury prior to October 30, 2005.  The requirement to notify the appropriate Board of a potential claim 

within 100 weeks for these statutes was repealed effective 10-1-2007.  Claims that are being submitted under NRS 616B.560, 

.581 and .590 still require notice of a possible claim as specified in these statutes. 
 

Part Three, subsection b:  Needs to be completed if the claim is being submitted under  NRS 616B.560, .581 or  .590. 

 

Parts Four through Seven:  These sections include all of the other documentation that must be submitted.  Do not re-

dact any information from the claim documents.  The file should not contain multiple copies of documents. The C-3 and C-4 

should be clear and readable.  If there is a C-1 form, include it.  If there is specific documentation that is being relied upon to 

support the employee’s false representation, this must be submitted. Medical reporting concerning the pre-existing condition 

must also be included. All documents must be in date of service order from oldest to newest.  All calculations must be includ-

ed with supporting documents.   

PPD documents must include signed election papers and PTD paperwork must be submitted, if applicable. Total expenditure 

documentation would include, but is not limited to, check copies, EOBs, payment printouts, log sheets, payment history 

sheets, etc.  If check copies are being used they should be placed with the bill and EOB that matches the payment.  If using 

payment log/history sheets, they can be placed in the front of the billing section.  A copy of the check, if applicable, EOB and 

bill should be in date of service order with the oldest appearing first.  All compensation payments must include off work slips, 

D-46, payroll checks, etc. Travel reimbursement must be supported by receipts, the completed D-26, and any additional docu-

mentation that supports the payment. 
                      (continued on page 3 

http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/d-37.pdf
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/d-37.pdf


Employer Educational Sweeps Update 

Compliance Audit Investigators from WCS provided Educational Outreach Sweeps in areas of the 

city where employer compliance for workers’ compensation is an ongoing issue. Within a 3 hour 

span, investigators visited over 179 employers and educated them on workers’ compensation com-

pliance. The employers were asked to provide proof of coverage for workers’ compensation insur-

ance during the site visit and for those who did not have coverage, a courtesy warning was given. 

The investigators conducted follow-up site visits to ensure compliance within 3 weeks for those 

who failed to comply with the warning. WCS Educational Outreach Sweeps serve the small business community, as they 

sometimes struggle to comply with or are unaware of the requirement to provide coverage for workers’ compensation. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

Angelia Yllas 

Chief Compliance Audit Investigator  

Southern District Manager 

Percentage of employers without coverage      18% 

 

Percentage of employers in compliance       82% 

 

Percentage of employers who complied immediately after outreach 14% 

 

Stop Work Orders Issued          0% 
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continued from page 2) 

The file should contain all required legal documents with the exception of continuance requests. All vocational rehabilita-

tion documentation must be submitted.  Subrogation documentation, if any, must be included in the file.  Subrogation re-

imbursement will be offset from the subsequent injury reimbursement amount.  If subrogation is being pursued at the time 

the claim is submitted and recovery comes after the claim has been accepted and paid, a refund to the Account may be 

necessary by the insurer. 

 

If payment logs or spread sheets are used to document payments, they must include the check number, date of service, 

benefit type, payee name and amount paid. 

 

Part Eight:  Be sure to include all totals under  the correct line item.  Payment for  PPD evaluations are included 

under medical treatment. If the transaction history used for the payment portion of the claim does not reflect a total for 

each type of payment, calculator tapes must be provided to serve as checks and balances in case there is a discrepancy in 

the payment amounts in the file documentation. 

 

General Tips:  Insurers may request reimbursement pr ior  to claim closure. If the claim is approved for  reimburse-

ment from the Account, subsequent requests for reimbursement may be made using the same format. It is the submitter’s 

responsibility to keep track in the original claim file what has been requested for reimbursement if the claim has not been 

closed.  Submitters may document the dates included in the submission at the bottom of page three of the D-37.   

 

Review NAC 616B.707.  This regulation defines which costs associated with claims are considered administrative. Ad-

ministrative costs will not be reimbursed and should not be included in the requested reimbursement amount. 

 

Remember, the burden of proof for substantiating qualifying claims lies with the party submitting the request. Incomplete 

files or files not conforming to the required format will be returned to the submitter and will include a detailed letter out-

lining the discrepancies.  If a file has to be returned and the submitting party is in the Las Vegas area, the file will need to 

be picked up at our Las Vegas office.   

 

For more information, including Subsequent Injury Board decisions, visit our web site at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/

Subsequent_Injury/. If you have any questions, please contact Jacque Everhart at 702-486-9089 or everhart@business.nv.gov.  
 
Jacque Everhart 

Subsequent Injury Coordinator 

Subsequent Injury Claim Request Procedures 

Summer Edition (June 2018– August 2018) 

mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Subsequent_Injury/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Subsequent_Injury/
mailto:everhart@business.nv.gov
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Consumer Health Assistance (OCHA) 
 
 

 

 

Annual Service Provider Appreciation Fair 
The Workers’ Compensation Section (WCS) participated in the annual Nevada Self-Insurers Association (NSIA) Vendor 

Appreciation and Marketing Fair held at Circus Circus on April 20, 2018.   The WCS was able to reach out and provide in-

formation on various topics to those attendees just starting out in Nevada workers’  compensation.  Over 80 attendees 

stopped at our booth to not only collect information but to also ask questions.  The WCS’ booth contained information in-

cluding our new location, our upcoming training opportunities and brochures for the medical, insurer and vocational rehabili-

tation community as well information specific to Subsequent Injury Accounts.  Much of this information is on the WCS web-

site http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/.  

 

There were 73 exhibitors which was comprised of a diverse array of medical professionals, industrial representatives and 

government officials.  The WCS was excited to be among those who participated and it was a great opportunity to reach out 

to the community and meet face to face with our constituents. 
Kristine Garcia 

Assistant Editor 

The State of Nevada’s Office for Consumer Health Assistance (OCHA) helps Nevadans access information on their rights and 

responsibilities as patients and injured workers.  We also advocate for, and educate consumers and injured workers concern-

ing their rights and responsibilities under their health care plans and policies including:  group health plans through their em-

ployer, managed care, individual health insurance policies, hospital billing, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act 

(ERISA), workers’ compensation, government programs such as Medicare and Medicaid, and discount medical plans.  Our 

Ombudsman for injured workers answers questions about the workers’ compensation claim process and, when necessary, will 

advocate on their behalf to resolve issues including:  Temporary Total Disability benefit delays or miscalculations, treatment 

plan inquiries, and preparation and filing of hearings/appeals requests.  OCHA may also assist injured workers with filing for-

mal complaints with the Division of Industrial Relations.  For additional information, please contact OCHA at 702-486-3587, 

or toll free at 1-888-333-1597.   

 

You may also visit our website at http://dhhs.nv.gov/Programs/CHA/ or email us at 

cha@govcha.state.nv.us. 

 

Charles Quintana, Ombudsman for Injured Workers 

Office for Consumer Health Assistance 

WCS MISSION STATEMENT 
 

 

Kristine Garcia and Lupe Manzo, WCS Las Vegas, 

ready to handout goodies and answer attendees ques-

tions. 

The purpose of the Workers’ Compensation Section is to impartially serve the 

interests of Nevada employers and employees by providing assistance, infor-

mation, and a fair and consistent regulatory structure focused on: Ensuring the 

timely and accurate delivery of workers' compensation benefits. Ensuring em-

ployer compliance with the mandatory coverage  provisions. 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
http://dhhs.nv.gov/Programs/CHA/
mailto:cha@govcha.state.nv.us
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 A D-35 Request for a Rotating Physician or Chiropractor must be submitted to WCS prior to any PPD 

impairment evaluation being scheduled with a rater. Before WCS can process a D-35, the claim must be re-

ported to the Claims Index System.  If the claim has not been reported, submit the D-38 Injured Worker In-

dex System Claims Registration Document via the CARDS web portal or by submitting the fillable form 

found on our website.  

 

 The FY17 WCS Workers’ Compensation Claims Activity Report pursuant to NRS 616B.009 and NAC 616B.016 was 

requested via email to insurers and TPAs on February 12, 2018 and was due no later than March 30, 2018.  Insurers that 

have not submitted either the FY17 WCS Claims Activity Report or Statement of Inactivity should do so immedi-

ately.  Forms and instructions can be found on our  website at http://dir .nv.gov/WCS/Insurer -TPA_Reporting/.  

NOTE:  The Insurer Information Form is no longer part of this data call.  See “The Insurer Information Form” below. 

 

 The Insurer Information Form is available only in our CARDS web portal and must be completed within 30 days of any 

changes and reviewed and submitted at least once annually.  An email request was sent on April 6, 2018 to insurers outlin-

ing the annual requirement to submit the form in the portal.  The due date to submit a new Information Form or to review/

update/submit and existing form was May 7, 2018.  All insurers – active and inactive – must complete the Insurer Infor-

mation Form.  Insurers that have not submitted the Insurer Information Form on the web portal after February 1, 2018 

should do so immediately.  (For more information on the CARDS portal, visit our CARDS webpage: http://dir.nv.gov/

WCS/CARDS/ ) 

 

 Proof of Coverage (POC):  Private carriers must report information to NCCI within 15 days of the effective date of the 

issuance, renewal, cancellation, nonrenewal, reinstatement or reissuance of a policy of workers’ compensation insurance.  

Starting July 1, 2018, private carriers writing large deductible policies in Nevada will be required to submit 3 addi-

tional data elements relating to the policy.  See NCCI Circular POC-NV-2018-01 on our website at http://dir.nv.gov/

uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/InsurerReportingDocs/POC-NV-2018-01.pdf for more information. 

 

 The Occupational Disease Claim Report: Ongoing OD-8 reporting requirements can be found on our website at http://

dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/.  Don’t forget to submit all required updates to reportable claims including ap-

peals, closures and reopening's.  Watch for a revised OD-8 form in 2018 to capture data per AB 267 (2017) relating to 

appeals for heart and lung claims. 

 

 2018 PT Claims Report – watch for this annual data call to be distributed in early July and due in early August. 

 

Information on reporting requirements and forms can be found on our Web site at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ under 

“Insurer and TPA Reporting” or go directly to our page at http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/. Contact the WCS 

Research and Analysis Unit by phone at (702) 486-9080 or by email at wcsra@business.nv.gov if we can be of any assistance. 

 

WCS WILL BE 

CLOSED 

WEDNESDAY,  

JULY 4, 2018 

IN OBSERVANCE 

OF  

INDEPENDENCE 

DAY 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/CARDS/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/CARDS/
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/InsurerReportingDocs/POC-NV-2018-01.pdf
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dirnvgov/content/WCS/InsurerReportingDocs/POC-NV-2018-01.pdf
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Insurer-TPA_Reporting/
mailto:wcsra@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/uploadedFiles/dir.nv.gov/content/WCS/Features/DIR Move Public Info.pdf
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Hails, Farewells and         

Promotions 

Congratulations Joe “JD” Decker 

who vacated his position as DIR Administrator to 

join the DMV as the Administrator for the Compli-

ance Enforcement Division in April.  JD has worked 

with the Department of Business and Industry since 

2013 and has been a steady leader in multiple divi-

sions.   We appreciate his invaluable contributions to 

the Division of Insurance, the Real Estate Division, 

the Division of Industrial Relations and most recent-

ly the Taxicab Authority.  JD has demonstrated lead-

ership, vision and the ability to get things done.   JD will be missed 

and we are confident he will achieve success in his new position. 

After 20 years of state service, Terri Mills retired on June 

8, 2018 as an Compliance Audit Investigator II. She 

looks forward for the 1st week of sleeping and getting up 

when she is ready to get up.  As she gets used to her re-

tired routine, she will be doing some gardening with her 

dog, Lucy, cooking for her parents and oh, yes, watching 

her new  grandson grow. Terri is also expecting a great 

granddaughter by the end of June.  Happy Retirement!! 

Direct comments or suggestions 

about this newsletter to:   

Workers’ Compensation Section  

Las Vegas Office  

Ruth Ryan, Editor  

Krissi Garcia, Assistant Editor 

(702) 486-9019 

 

rryan@business.nv.gov 

Krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov 

S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  
3360 West Sahara Avenue, Suite 250  

Las Vegas, Nevada  89102 

 krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov  

 (702) 486-9105 
 

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
400 West King Street, Suite 400  

Carson City, Nevada  89703  

 kawilliams@business.nv.gov  

 (775) 684-7265 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

WCS Basic Orientation  

9/27/2018 at 9:30 am and 1:30 pm 

C-4 Processing & CVS 

10/17/2018 at 9:30 am  

Medical Billing 

10/17/2018  at 1:30 pm 

CONTACT WCS 
 

Department of  
Business and Industry 

Division of Industrial Relations  
Workers’ Compensation Section 

 
 

 S O U T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(702) 486-9080 / Fax: (702) 486-8712 

 

N O R T H E R N  N E V A D A  
(775) 684-7270 / Fax: (775) 687-6305 

 

http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/ 

 

WCSHelp@business.nv.gov 

Congratulations to Judy Cheun, who was promoted in  

March from Compliance Audit Investigator II to Com-

pliance Audit Investigator III  in the Benefit Penalty 

Unit where she’ll be investigating allegations of insurer 

or TPA misconduct and may recommend payments to 

injured workers. 

Congratulations to Roxanne Escamilla, who has recently 

been promoted to the position of Administrative Assistant 

III in the Employer Compliance Unit.  Roxanne began her 

career with the WCS in August of 2016 as WCS AO/HO 

review and compliance processer.  Her experience in the 

WCS Audit Unit and medical management background 

will also assist her greatly in her new duties. Her back-

ground, along with her enthusiasm and commitment to 

assist will ensure her success in her new role.  

Welcome Sherry Crance, the new Medical Unit Super-

visor for WCS in Carson City. She has been an RN for 

over 20 years and has worked for the State of Nevada 

for  almost 15 years.  Sherry has experience in case 

management, surgical nursing, rehabilitation, Medi-

caid, facility inspections and insurance.  When not at 

work, she likes to spend time with family and furry 

friends, hike, read and garden.  

file:///C:/Users/krissi.garcia/Documents/Scanned Documents
mailto:krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov
mailto:krissi.garcia@business.nv.gov
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/
mailto:kawilliams@business.nv.gov?subject=WCS%20training%20session
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Contacts/
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Home/
mailto:WCSHelp@business.nv.gov?subject=WCSHelp%20Newsletter

